Dmcmanus

Sailrite Leatherwork Machine

Hi, I am new to leather sewing and am looking to buy a machine.  Does anyone have experience with the Sailrite Leatherwork machine?  It is in my price range but I am also open to suggestions.  I am planning on sewing bags and small items. Any input/advice would be appreciated.  Thank you,

Diane

Sailrite are generally expensive but have a good service reputation. This looks like their LS-1 painted green portable walking foot sewing machine placed in a table with a decent servo motor. The maximum thread size it can handle is V92. If I'm not mistaken they were once sold through Tandy stores. These portable machines were designed for sewing sail material not leather. Most portable walking foot sewing machines have very aggressive teeth on their feed dog and pressor foot and have a tendency to leave marks. For about the same money if all you need is a walking foot (feed dog, pressor foot) you could get a Juki DU-1181N ( max thread of V138) for about the same price.

Personally I would look at a triple feed machine where material is feed through by the feed dog, the needle and the pressor foot. I would recommend you look at upholstery class machines like the Juki DNU-1541S ( max thread of V138) for about $1800 or a clone triple feed maybe like a Consew 206RB-5 for about $1500.

Also I would recommend you visit a vendor and test drive a couple of machines with a sample of the materials and the thread you are planning on using. Just like cars there is also the used machine market where you can buy a good used machine at a reduced price.

Buy Once, Cry Once.

kgg