Schick

Can You Recommend Leather for a Newbie's Watch Straps ?

Hi. I have been trying to teach myself how to make leather watch straps. So far, I have realized just how difficult it might be, as I am very new to leather and now see just how many techniques I need to master.

I am able to stitch fairly good (in my eyes at least), and am getting better at cutting out templates by hand. I am even getting better at edge coating and hand-burnishing. I am however, having difficulty skiving my work. I realize it is not something I would learn in a week, and I expect to learn from my mistakes.

I think my issues are based on a few things. I need to get better at sharpening my skiving tools. I am okay at it, but not perfect. I am also using cheap scrap leather. It is the kind you get in bags at stores like Tandy. I think it is mostly chrome tanned. I think some of my scrap may actually be some old couch leather a friend gave me. Skiving the Tandy scrap leather is a real pain for me, as I seem to either cut too much and accidentally shorten a piece, or not quite thin the leather enough. I am guessing that veg tanned leather is easier, but am unsure, as veg tanned scraps available are heavy, and much to thick for a watch strap. I tried sanding the leather with a dremel instead of a skiving knife, but wow, is that ever messy!

A friend told me that chrome tanned is bad, especially if it touches the skin, and that some people might get skin reactions on their wrists. Is that true?

Also, is the inner layer of leather in a watch strap usually calf skin? Are there alternatives? What is a good leather for watch straps created by a newbie?

I have so many questions, but will just try and keep it to this topic for now.

Thanks in advance to anyone kind enough to offer advice.