Sign in to follow this  
Firesstorm

A Bit Of A Question About A Piece Of Arm Armor.

Good afternoon all, I'm an utter novice at leather work, but I have a project in mind that I need some advice on. I have been browsing around the forums for some time now, and I have a rough Idea of what I want to do, but no clue how to go about it!

I'm attempting to make a piece of realistic-looking armor to look sort of like a prosthetic arm for a Steampunk costume I'm working on, and I was thinking of molding the leather to my specific shape so I could have good forearm/ elbow/ upper arm and shoulder joints that I knew would fit, but I need some advice on molding, sizing, and in general what kind of leather and material I should use. I was thinking around 10 oz. Veg Tan leather, with a wet mold process using my own arm to shape it then an oven bake technique I was seeing discussed on here, and I was wondering if anyone had some tips on what kind of tools or techniques would be best for a beginner to use for a project such as this?

Any help would be very much appreciated! helpsmilie.gif

You could technically do this project with just a knife and hot water, but that would look a bit messy.

First thing first, start at the following site: http://www.armourarchive.org/patterns/

Now, when I do arm armor, I use 10 oz vegetable tanned leather. I harden it using the water hardening technique listed here: http://www.daviddfriedman.com/Medieval/Articles/Perfect_Armor_Improved.htm