Hi, I am new to working with leather and am having a problem.

I have seen a lot of talk about dyes but nothing about stains.

I tooled a belt and then I used eco-flo saddle tan stain, then I finished with eco-flo super sheen. I let the stain dry before applying the sheen.

Now comes the problem, when I wore the belt I ended up with stain on my pants.

What the heck, I thought the sheen was supposed to prevent this problem.

I used three coats of sheen.

I have never tried using dyes so I am not sure if they work the same when applied. I like using the stain because of the way the cuts and depressions in the leather get dark. LIke I said I have never

used dyes so I am not sure if they will do the same thing.

So what am I doing wrong? Why is the stain getting on my pants?

Thanks.

So, your problem is one that I've had a lot of issues with when it comes to the how-to videos and Tandy's literature all together. Stain should be considered a liquid antique, so when you're looking around for information, go that direction. It really shouldn't be used as a dye in my opinion. You SHOULD start using dyes. They're a lot easier to work with. But, you'll want to use an antique to make the tooling really pop out if that's what you're after. My problem with the literature is that they don't do enough to explain the differences between dye, antique, stain, or finish. As it is, based on there videos, a lot of people think you can just slap some SuperSheen on something and it will stop the dye from penetrating that area. It's a HUGE disservice to the craft and all the people who go looking for information on how to get started.

Now, problem #2, SuperSheen = CRAP. If you want a similar product, try Resolene. But, there are several good finishes out there, SuperSheen is NOT one of them. There's lots of info here on how to use Resolene, so do yourself a favor and research around a little bit on that (it can be tricky sometimes if you're not familiar with it).