Chit

Is There A Need To Use An Awl After Punching With Chisel?

Hi guys

I'm really new to leatherwork but i must say i have found this forum really much helpful in getting ppl like me started.. Thanks!

Anyway, I hope this is not too sily a question, and im sure it is somewhere in another thread, but I noticed in many instructional videos that after the leather has been hole-punched for stitching, the leather worker will use an awl to go through each hole individually before putting the needle through. Is there a reason why?

For me, I use a diamond-shaped chisel to punch my holes and do my stitching immediately. Am i missing something here?

Appreicate your advice!

Regards

Wai Chit

Hello and welcome

This is not a silly question and there are so many opinions and methods out there.

I have saddle stitched for only a couple years so this is only my short experience. I read the Al Stohlman stitching book and started his way.

I started with making a groove with a groover, use a wheel to mark the hole locations for the entire length then use a round or diamond awl to get holes just ahead of where I am working so they don't close up too fast. Often I make holes seven or so stitches ahead of my needles so I can be faster. The wheel is hard to keep in the line and often drifts so stitching becomes not as straight as I would like.

Ok, so then I bought set of diamond chisels from Japan goods and use them to punch holes in a grooved or scratched line. This punches out a small hunk of leather so the hole stays open...mostly. BUT on some leathers it closes up an I use the diamond awl to open them up as I go. I like the diamond punches as the holes are really easy to see and you can get some nice straight lines.