I wanted a magazine pouch similar to the PMC by Pocket Concealment Systems. I also wanted an IWB magazine pouch, but don't like to put a metal belt clip on something so narrow/tall. So, I compromised and came up with one that will do both.

Before this, I made a couple of belt keepers for keys, a bracelet for my son, an overly simple belt pouch straight out of a Stohlman book, and a couple of speedloader pouches. I'm still very new to leather work, but find it very satisfying and fun. This is my first attempt at forming leather.

I'd sincerely appreciate a critical eye and some suggestions/critique. Don't spare the rod, I have tough skin and am eager to improve. My eye notices the mars on the surface the most and the fact that the straps were made from scraps and need to be replaced. What do you see?

5557372577_c05e90f9a0.jpg

IWB/Pocket mag pouch

5557955772_aa5a098bc9.jpg

Side of IWB/pocket mag pouch

5557371639_abe50d730f.jpg

removeable belts straps by Kevin Durham, on Flickr

I see a fine looking piece, excellent forming. My only question is how do you like the fit? It looks like it may be kinda high off the belt line.

I was wondering it would work better if you attached the upper snap assembly to the holster with a t-nut, then snap to it. It would lower the pouch into your waist band more. But that's a matter of preference I guess.

Otherwise, I say it's a really good job.

Agreed on both counts. Excellent forming, but how is the comfort and stability riding up that high? I would make the loop attachment points the same as the snap point. You can raise the wings up a hair too to help.

Put a bit more of a corner on the upper outside edges of your wings to. This will help as a pocket carrier. They will act as "hooks" grabbing the inside of the pocket so it does not come out with the mag.