I apologize if this topic has been addressed before but I am a jewlery designer and have recently started making my own leather cuff and wrap bracelets. I have been experimenting, with no luck, writing quotes on wrap bracelets but I can't seem to find an ink or paint that will not smear after drying. I haven't had great luck finding information on the web either about what to use. I don't know if I should be applying a finish to the bracelet afterwards or what. If anyone has any ideas, I would be ever so grateful...

Thank you

Linda

Soquili Designs.

I have only dabbled in this a little bit but I have found that sharpies will work and most will not smear depending on the finish that is applied. The sharpie paint markers seem to work well but they tend to run out very quickly and dealing with the retractable tip thing is a pain.

I have also tried some pens used for scrapbooking. I don't remember who makes them but they also work pretty well if you find the right finish to cover them or spray a finish over them.

With every color I do regardless of brand I find that I have to test it out first. For example, black sharpie and resolene seemed to work fine but resolene over silver sharpie (the pen not the pain marker) smeared, while over the silver sharpie paint pen it did not smear at all.

I second sharpies. I actually have started using them for all sorts of applications with great success. Best thing to do is test on scrap leather first of course.

i have had good luck with copic markers.

OH, and another thing that I totally forgot to mention. In the military (17 years National guard) we use these alchohal markers to write on map overlays and such. They come in permenant and non permenant. They come in a variety of tip sizes as well.

I have used both the permenant and non permenant with success and very little wiping off or smearing when a finish coat is applied. Here is a link of an example of the markers: