Very beginning leatherworker here, and this is my very first project to which I've attempted to apply any sort of dye or finish. The folks at the nearby Tandy store sent me home with this "all-in-one" product -- which may or may not have been the wisest selection on my part -- and I'm having some problems with it.

I'm applying it straight from the bottle with a wool dauber to a belt-like strip of veg-tanned leather. I'm applying it pretty heavily, and then wiping off excess with rags of old cotton t-shirts. My results are streaky. The dye seems to soak in so quickly that I can't color a large area without seeing the edges. That is, if I dye/coat 12 inches of strap, and then take a few seconds to also coat the edges or the flip side, when I continue where I left off on the first side, a line has been created. I can't seem to keep a sufficiently "wet edge" (to borrow a term from the house painter's trade) so as to get a uniform application of color.

Moreover, there aren't really any directions with this stuff. Am I supposed to thin it with water before applying? Apply to wet leather or dry? Spread it evenly and let it dry before buffing? Or apply and wipe off as I've been doing?

Is this just the wrong product for me? Should I be using SEPARATE dye and finish?

I just want consistent, even, non-streaky color.

Help!

Very beginning leatherworker here, and this is my very first project to which I've attempted to apply any sort of dye or finish. The folks at the nearby Tandy store sent me home with this "all-in-one" product -- which may or may not have been the wisest selection on my part -- and I'm having some problems with it.