tvd7

Hole Punch Size

Hi Everybody. I am a little new to this. So I bought the Tandy Mini and Maxi Punch Set for setting holes. But when I got them out and tried them, they were all unsharp and dull and didn't punch through anything. And I don't like the rotary kinds either. So I've decided that getting individual hole punches would be better. I want to use the hole punches for standard holes like i.e. belts, holes for putting in snaps, rivets, etc. There are so many hole sizes, so I was wondering what are the standard hole sizes for those things? Thanks!

You can set most snaps with a #2 and a #6. For buckle tongue holes, I prefer an oval punch to the round holes.

I would pick up the Osborn belt punch set for $45 before you start buying better punches like Weaver's store brand. That way you'll get 6 punches in the most common sizes and be able to get a feel for what's appropriate for your applications and usually have the correct tool at hand.

Also get a combination water stone, make a strop, and learn the basics of sharpening — only the best tools will come sharp enough to use. You will be delighted with the results.

Round punches are easy enough to get an acceptable edge on.

Use a piece of UHDPE or poundo board to preserve your edges.

Thanks JLSleather.

Thanks Nuttish. I think I will take your advise and pick up the Osborn Belt Punch Set. I think I will have to get a stone and strop too and learn about sharpening as everything I get from Tandy is never sharp.

You could try sharpening the Tandy punches with a waterstone or oilstone, and a strop first, before spending any more money. If nothing else, you'll get some practice on a cheap set before working on expensive tools