bcflyguy

How To Paint Leather

Newbie here. Once a piece has been carved and tooled how do you paint and protect the leather afterwards. This piece will live outdoors on my saddlebags

thanks bcflyguy aka Neil

I'm pretty new as well, but I think what you are looking for is a 2 step process.

First, you'll want to dye your project. There are a ton of dyes out there. I use Ecoflo because I have a Tandy store close by. They have a bunch of colors and it's pretty easy to work with. You might want to wear disposable gloves as the first time I worked with dye, it was red and I had bare hands. The dye doesnt come off for several days and it looked liked I killed the cow I dyed.

Once that is dry. You'll need a finish. If this is going to be outside, you'll want something that is considered waterproof. I haven't made something that's going to be in the rain, but I know Fiebing's Acrylic Resolene is pretty good stuff and dries to a semi glossy look. I know there is stuff out there for weather-proofing shoes, but I don't know the name. That might work better for you.

I'm sure some other people will jump on as help you as well with ideas today, but this should get you started in a good direction.

Lenore

I was just poking around and found some good information on this thread http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=19583.

Sorry, don't know how to hyperlink that. I'd look around in there and the forum that thread came from.

If no one else answers you, you might want to repost the topic as "How to finish leather". There are people that use paints on leather to paint pictures, but EVERYBODY wants to finish their projects.

Lenore

Hi, Flyguy and hi also to Lenore

As a topcoat several options are available.

As Lenore says, Resoline is very good but, most use it cut 50/50 with water !

Now is when I use it, full strength As a topcoat.

------------ Or ---------------------

SuperSheen is prefered by many.