OtisEllieLg

Newbie Question

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to working with leather and just wanted to get into it as a hobby, so I decided to visit our local Tandy
Leather and pick up a few tools and start playing around.
So far its been fun and now Ive got a few questions that I was hoping you would be able to help me out with.
1. The first item is dying and conditioning the leather. I bought a side of veg tan leather and after talking the guy at
the store he suggest that I use a Water Stain so I bought Eco-Flo for leather water stain, and as well some Professional
Clear Matte Finish by Eco-Flo. One thing he didnt really go over was the proper was to use these products and in what order
and steps should be taken.
I have found that when wet the edges of the leather to burnish it or make some bends in the leather it really dries it out
where I make the folds, what can be done to re condition the leather and make it supple in those areas again.
So yeah any tips on using these products and finishing veg tan would be much appreciated.
2. The second question I have is regarding setting snaps I find that sometimes when setting the snaps the post bends over
causing the snap to shift over slightly and causing it not to be centered on the strap anymore. I just wondering if anyone
has any tips on setting snaps so they dont move when hammering them in place.
Thanks everyone and I look forward to being a part of the community here.

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to working with leather and just wanted to get into it as a hobby, so I decided to visit our local Tandy
Leather and pick up a few tools and start playing around.
So far its been fun and now Ive got a few questions that I was hoping you would be able to help me out with.
1. The first item is dying and conditioning the leather. I bought a side of veg tan leather and after talking the guy at
the store he suggest that I use a Water Stain so I bought Eco-Flo for leather water stain, and as well some Professional