wadeh

Three Ring Notebook

I have a new project that I have never tackled before. I have some leather experience with making leather sheaths for the knives I make. But the other day my wife came up with a new project for me. She is putting together our best recipes that we have made and some that her mother and my mother gave us years ago and she wants them put in one or two big notebooks. Well she got the idea that I could make a leather notebook to keep all the recipes in and one day hand them down to our Granddaughters that have really takened up cooking. Has anyone ever done anything like this. She wants something that would eventually become a keepsake. I will say that I kind of like the idea of making something like this to pass on, but just not to sure how to proceed. Any ideas and or advice on where to get the parts I need and how to do would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Tandy does sell a kit that is a 3 ring binder. I think they call it a memory kit or something like that. Another option would be to buy a binder and make a cover for it.

I have done a couple of these, just by drilling out the rivets on a binder from office depot, and covering the card board. I used 4-5oz leather on the outside, and 2-3 oz leather for the inside and pockets. I used Chicago screws to put the rings in the leather binder, because the leather is going to outlast just about any rings you can get. Make sure the inside of the binder is glued very well to the binder, otherwise you will get wrinkles. They are very stiff when finished, but will break in with use.

Music Binder 2.JPG

Vulture 2.JPG

Vulture 4.JPG

post-7753-126546526083_thumb.jpg

post-7753-126546528966_thumb.jpg

post-7753-126546531775_thumb.jpg

Thanks for the replies.

I had not thought of covering a binder with leather, makes sense though. Any other hints or tricks to covering one?

Thanks again for the help.