Sign in to follow this  

This is my First Project..it a personal business card holder...

i have practiced some of the things here and there but there was alot of first on this project, the design and layout are all mine. I have a long way to go and i see all sorts of errors, some i know will get better with time, the one that bugs me the most is the round braiding in the corners does not look right. Any tips and or input are welcome. I have learned alot reading and looking at the great work here on LW.

Thks!

leathercardholder08004-1.jpg

leathercardholder08005-1.jpg

Nice finish job! I like it a lot.

On the corners, got through the three corner holes twice each. It give a lot better coverage.

Nice for what I can see, pix are small and wont open to be enlarged to see detail.

What Tasha said about the corners.... Practice...

Get out a few scraps, and get some plastic/nylon lace and practice. Some projects when doing the round braid I will hit the corner holes three times to make it look right....

As for anything else... I cant see detail so i cannot give any opinion as to what looks right and what doesnt... I can say you have a leg up already with the fact that this is your first project, and it is all custom, not from a kit.... you have creativity built in....

thks Tashabear and Wolvenstien....i will punch some holes in a scrape and see of i can get the corners to look better...i practiced the round braid on a round coster blank and all seemed well til i tried the real corners....

here is a larger pic.....i will look into how to make the pic enlarge on here....i am also going watch in the next designs that i dont place the tribal next to the cross....its one of those things that looked better on paper than tooled.

leathercardholder08004.jpg

Edited by SouthPaw