Sign in to follow this  
cbeatti2

Newb With A Question - Where Did I Go Wrong?

Hi

I am just starting out with leather working and therefore am not sure where I have gone wrong on one of my first projects. I am working on a small purse for my wife and while the first side of the purse turned out fine so far (to my eyes at least) the other side did not. I suspect I may have not cased it quite right, or perhaps I need to clean the leather before casing? I used the "no more tears" casing formula and bagged both pieces overnight, although at separate times. I have inserted an image of the good side and then the piece that doesn't look very healthy, despite a coating of neatsfoot oil which I thought would straighten it out. It just seems to dry out and has white areas so not sure where I went wrong, and whether I can fix it somehow. Thanks!

post-22288-087900200 1311638113_thumb.jp

post-22288-014906000 1311638131_thumb.jp

What formula did you use for the casing?

What formula did you use for the casing?

I don't think that matters, since BOTH pieces were cased with the same formulation. Most likely, the pieces were from 2 very different hides that absorbed the casing differently. Actually could have been a number of things (absorption rates of each piece, perhaps 1 piece allowed to dry too much, or too wet, different tannages, etc), but certainly NOT the formulation of the casing solution.

I have a couple of questions? How did your swivel knife work when cutting both pieces? Did one drag more than the other? Did it seem to cut into the leather or just scrape the top? This might go to Whinewine's suggestions.

Hey there. Thanks for the replies.