Sign in to follow this  
Stewart

Beveling

Hi,

I just started a new project using same

piece of leather and the beveler is burnishing different. Same dark color

but the stoke marks are defined. Same striking and angle ,i believe.

Well my Dad always said I would argue wth a Compass.

Stewart

The burnishing is coming from the water content in your leather. The strike of the tool is causing the compressions of the leather fibers to bunch up and create the color. I am not good at science and I have heard several reasons for this, but I believe my last reasoning for this is that the leather has settle deep inside the leather and has somewhat evaporated from the top, which is why to you get the color down in the pits and not on top after striking the tool. As for the marks? I believe you are striking your tools (spacing) too far apart instead of striking them short distances in succession? OR You are leaning the tool the rear case the edge of the tool to leave a mark as you strike it? OR a couple of other things? It just depends. I mentioned in another thread about Paul Burnett's Pictorial Definition book. It explains in detail the differences in beveling and the impressions that they make or leave. I also think that Stohlman Leatherwork Manual (found at Tandy to this day) explains this as well.