Larry

How would you do these belt loops?

I'd like to do a holster like the one below, but not sure how the belt loops are done. I didn't know if it would be just one wide slot or would two narrow slots about an inch apart be better? Thanks everyone. Larry

holsterm12-1.jpg

Edited by Larry

Larry,

For stability purposses, I would go with one wide loop. More then likly, the throat band at the opening of the holster and the belt loop are one piece. Hope this helps.

Randy

This is my pattern, you can see that was my thinking too. But I'm new to this and wanted to get it done the correct way. I sure appreciate the help. It's great to learn from folks that have been doing this for a while and know what they are talking about. Thanks, Larry

Holster01.jpg

One of the reasons for the double loops is so that a belt loop on the pants can be placed in the gap, therby not allowing the holster to shimmy front to back. Find out what works for you.

Well, I finished my second holster. I still have a long way to go, especially with the stitching in the thick area that required drilling. I had to make it a little thicker than the normal style for this holster as I wanted the mag release to be covered. So the thickness at the frame is as wide as the frame and not the trigger guard as it usually is. It still draws easy, or will soon when it gets broken in. Right now it is real tight. I soaked it and when almost dry I put my pistol in it and vacuum sealed it and hand massaged a while then used a polished deer antler. I used a bamboo skewer stick in the sight channel and it is the perfect width of the front sight. It sets real snug to my side and is very concealable. I like it except for the stitching. My pistol is a 3" Kimber Ultra Carry and I embossed my initials with the 1/4" alphabet set. The embossing didn't turn out so good.

FinishedHolster01.jpg

FinishedHolster02.jpg