Wyowally

Singer 111W155 presser foot lift

I'm more frustrated than embarrassed, so here goes.  I got this machine a few years ago and totally went through it, including priming, painting and proper decals. It was and is a great machine and I learned a lot. I got a lot of that learning help right here, thank you!    Fast forward :   I have done several projects each year since, as I am a hobbyist, not a production guy.   A few days ago the presser foot quit lifting. I'm sure I did something wrong, left a screw loose, etc.  I got my manuals out, re-visited Uwe and YT, checked this forum for history. I spent four hours this morning trying to get it back

• The puzzle to me is understanding mechanically what even makes that foot lift at all. It is obvious that the mechanical linkage raises the center vibrating foot - not obvious to me at least what raises the presser in each cycle. I have adjusted the eccentric and the vertical travel. 
  • I don't know where to set the small block that the tip of flat spring rides on. I have moved it up and down quite a bit.
  • Likewise the topmost clamp guide thing - not sure where to set it. It appears its only function is to guide and keep things straight.
  • The clamp screw on the back that holds the tension release mechanism on - is it supposed to be tight, or loose enough for the presser bar to move inside? If it is supposed to be tight, where on the presser bar should it be?
  • I have a new replacement eccentric but never got into removing the main shaft. The old one works, but it was missing a set screw - not the major one that pins it to the shaft, but one of the pair that "locks" the adjustment.

I hope that's not too much information. Thanks!