Sign in to follow this  
Alberta Bound

Introduction And Some Of My Work

Hello everyone,

I just registered on the site and thought I'd introduce myself and show off a little bit. I'm from Alberta Canada originally but I'm currently on the east coast for university. I've been dabbling in leatherwork for 5 years or so. I mainly braid roo, but I've also worked with paracord and mohair. Most of my projects are horse-related and I suppose I braid mainly in the California style (I am a big fan of Gail Hought's books!). I learned to braid mostly from books because braiding isn't a very popular pastime up here. I don't sell a lot of my stuff (to be completely honest, I just enjoy making it and giving it to someone who will enjoy it). I really look forward to talking to other braiders on here and learning new ways to improve my pieces! I do have a few pictures of my work, so I think I'll just let that speak for itself. This is my first post so I'm going to cross my fingers and hope the pictures work out...

post-16956-046846600 1285943391_thumb.jp

The loop on the bracelet is 6 plait, main body of crocodile ridge is 14 plait, and round braid near the terminal knot is 8 plait. I've made quite a few of these for friends, they're a nice project because they're so flexible and are a great excuse for practicing new flat braids without wasting a lot of leather.

post-16956-083308200 1285943913_thumb.jp

These are 6 plait black mohair reins (they would need slobber straps to attach to the bit). The pineapple knots above the tassles are 8p/9b turks heads with reversed 2nd interview for a balanced look.

post-16956-081720500 1285943964_thumb.jp

These are 12 plait mohair reins in progress. They are braided over a core of 8 strand mohair cord to ensure a round shape. The picture suggests that there is a twist in the braid but that's just they way they're coiled. They're a very hefty, heavy braid but would make a nice snaffle outfit.