RunningRoan

Thoughts on Ferdco Pro 440R?

I am new to leatherworking and looking to purchase my first sewing machine for making tack and strap goods, no saddles. I'm interested in Ferdco's Pro 440R. Has anyone used one? What do you think of them? Thanks for the input!

I had one, didn't like it. The throat plate eats the backside of lined stuff going around corners. At that time the 440 was the only powered machine under about $4000. Ron ended up and traded the head out for an Adler 205, and that was a good solid machine. If you are looking to do flat goods, I like the 1245 a ton. We have had it about a year and a half, and run a lot under it. I really don't think there is one machine to do everything, so a flat bed and cylinder arm machine both have their place in my shop. The 1245 is not intimidating for my wife, and I am using it a bunch more too. Good machine.

I wouldn't really recommend it. It is a cylinder arm which is good, but it is drop or bottom or feed dog feed only (they're all the same thing). If you want something for medium and heavy leather you will be happier with needle feed and basically little or no feed dog action. If you don't need the big 16" throat of a big stitcher, they now make 9" models that are a bit cheaper and are pretty much Juki 441 clones with smaller throats. Ferdco number is 2020 and Artisan is the 3000, the Artisan is a bit (big bit) less expensive and the machines are similar and are Walking foot, needle feed and drop feed (dogs). If you can live with the flat bed, the Ferdco 1245 (which is a clone of a Pfaff) and the Artisan 618-1SC will handle anything 24oz and even more with adjustments. Cylinder arm machines will accommodate a plethora of needle plate and presser foot combinations for making the job easier while flat beds generally have one needle plate and some feet although usually used for sewing welting etc.