Like the title says, this is my first time making a bridle that adjusts at the top. Naturally, I couldn't make it totally plain, and in hind sight I probably should've either left the top spikes on the cheeks off, or have placed them lower to give the browband more room on the smallest setting. The brow is the average 15", and end to end it'll go from 36"-41 1/2". Considering the ring size on snaffles, I wonder if the cheeks should be a hair shorter also.. But, I'm still pretty pleased with it!

post-20503-0-28460900-1369468844_thumb.j

post-20503-0-91730200-1369468850_thumb.j

post-20503-0-83720600-1369468852_thumb.j

post-20503-0-99578900-1369469027_thumb.j

Pretty cool looking, but you need a throatlatch to complete it.

Does it really need one? I know the purpose a throatlatch serves, but every sliding ear headstall I've seen lacks one, and I've seen both English and Western riders go without(or have it so loose it might aswell not be there).

I agree for a sliding ear headstall to not have a throatlatch, but a full browband headstall needs one to balance, and yours with the heavy studs would look better with one, just my opinion.

Nice work. I like the pink leather and the studs are very cool. Mind you, you wouldn't want it on a horse that hasn't learned not to rub on you. ;-)

It does look as though the top stud on the off-side cheek-piece is obstructing the correct lay of the browband, forcing it upward into this horse's ear. On a horse with a longer head, that wouldn't be a problem though. Removing the top stud or letting the poll strap out half a notch might solve that. I like a horse to carry a bit a tad more than the 'create a smile in the corner of the mouth' folks. But, it's a bit hard to tell from the pic just how snuggly that's already done up.

Will we be seeing a set of pink reins to match? ;-)

Edited by vacacaballo