J Hayes

Lift The Spot Or Pull The Dot Snaps?

Which is better, Lift the Spot snaps or Pull the Dot snaps? Price is pretty close on both, just want opinions.

Thanks

Jeremy

I have no experience with "Lift the Dot" snaps, so I can't speak on those.... BUT I do use "Pull the Dot" snaps on all of my holsters. They are pretty great. Easy to set by hand and very durable.

I'd say you can't go wrong with "Pull the Dot" snaps!

Do you use the "hard action cap socket " or the standard one?

Do you use an 8/32 screw and t nut with yours?

Thanks

Jeremy

Edited by J Hayes

Do you use the "hard action cap socket " or the standard one?

Do you use an 8/32 screw and t nut with yours?

Thanks

Jeremy

Jeremy,

I'm not exactly sure what the "Hard Action" is but I use the directional sockets if that helps at all.

For screws and t-nuts, I go with 6/32 on both. The screws fit perfectly with the snaps.

Hope that helps!

Jeremy,

Lift the dot are the old military spring clip type used on holsters circa WWII-Vietnam. They are primarily designed for canvas, and ghod we used them on boat covers a lot, the screw studs were good on metal and wood and we had sockets for them and drill packages to install them. The Pull the Dot are currently the choice for holsters. Be careful shopping at marine stores, the stainless ones for boats (not the pull the dot type, just regular ligne 24s) are the dickens to get snapped and need a tool to get unsnapped.

Art

Which is better, Lift the Spot snaps or Pull the Dot snaps? Price is pretty close on both, just want opinions.

Thanks

Jeremy

Thanks for the warning on marine store stuff. I've actually been in contact with the manufacturer of both, YKK and Dot. I've priced the mil spec snaps from both. Bianchi use Lift the Spot and on the one holster I've made so far I used Pull the Dot from Springfield Leather. I plan on buying 100 and was curious if one had a better reputation than the other.

Jeremy