Sign in to follow this  
patricweill

Ostrich belts

hello guys,

I have found a stock of nice ostrich necks, and I am proceeding in making belts, I can get 2 belts per neck in the best ones.

My problem is in gluing the ostrich skin to the blank. The flesh side of the ostrich is very messy, a lot of loose or almost loose fibers , and therefore the edge of the belt sometime has a tendency to lift up. any tricks that I need to know ?

Thanks in advanche

a sample

ostrich_belt.jpg

post-3102-1227951072_thumb.jpg

Patricweill,

I have not worked with ostrich yet, so I am not sure how to direct you for the problem, but I wanted to say how nice the belt is that you posted!

Beautiful job!

I did not know you could use the neck skin.

Welcome to the Forum, I wish I knew the answer but someone here will know.

Rick J.

can you sand the back with sandpaper? I know this is what could be done on cow, but I've never worked with ostrich before.

Marlon.

Thats an interesting problem you have there. I know ostrich necks are thin and loose in grain. The only thing I would consider is using the best glue technique possible. I use two light coats of contact cement and allow complete drying. Then sew closer to the edge, then use a bisenette edger to trim the edges back right next to the thread.

One more note. when glueing the liner down to the ostrich. put the ostrich face down and glue the liner on from the top. Trim the ostrich off the liner after glueing. This should give you a nice clean edge for sewing. Try angleing your knife when trimming off the ostrich, cutting it back from the edge somewhat, that may help with sewing close to the edge.

hope this helps you out.

The aligator I work with is like this. You have to trim those hairs of flesh with scissors and get as many off as possible. I use barge glue and that will hold almost anything down.

Where are you gettin tanned neck?