Sign in to follow this  
ces

Finishing Belts

My first Post: I am fairly new to leather working, I have done more reading than anything else. I have made a few small items such as money clips and checkbook covers. I have now made two belts but I need some help or info about finishes, I cannot find anything about finishing the backside of the belt or what to use if anything, any info or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance, CES.

CES, first of all, welcome to Leatherworker.net. We're glad you found us. Regarding your question, my personal preference is to leave the inside of the belt unfinished. If you're careful with your dyeing and your edge finishing, you can keep it nice-looking. I like the suede feel, plus there's no color to rub off on someone's pants.

However, if you think it looks better to finish the inside, here's a recent thread where some options were discussed. I hope this information helps!

http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=21578

I one of those guys who likes to line everything. So when I'm making a belt I glue a 2/3 oz lining in to cover the flesh side of the leather. I just think it looks a lot more finished and professional. However, now you have to sew the edges, so adding a lining can mean a lot more work. Like ABN said, there is nothing wrong with leaving the flesh side exposed.....just try to keep it clean.

ABN, Hidepounder,

Thanks for the replies, input, and info. I like the unfinished look myself but did not know if it was really cosher, I have several store bought and flea market belts with the backsides finished and I don't like the way it cracked and looks ugly. I have really enjoyed reading on this site, and am really enjoying this brand new hobby, wish I had started it years and years ago. With Ya'lls help I just might learn something even at my age lol. Thanks again for the replies, CES.