Heritage Softail

New Member From Maryland

Hi everyone, beginner here, been hanging around the forums for a couple weeks and watching a lot of videos on youtube. I'm pretty excited to get started here but could use a little guidance to get me going on the right track. I think I'd like to get started making some tool bags for motorcycles, stuff like that. I've learned that when you tool leather, you should go with veg-tanned leather. I'd like to start practicing tooling, but I'm more concerned with fabricating leather items right now without the design, until I become proficiant tooling. For something like tool bags that get a lot of weather abuse, do i want to go with veg-tanned leather or something else? I plan on looking for tools on ebay, are there any tools I want to stay away from or certain things I should watch out for?

Welcome,

What part of Maryland are you in?

Welcome to the forum H/S.

Hi there! ;)

Hi everyone, beginner here, been hanging around the forums for a couple weeks and watching a lot of videos on youtube. I'm pretty excited to get started here but could use a little guidance to get me going on the right track. I think I'd like to get started making some tool bags for motorcycles, stuff like that. I've learned that when you tool leather, you should go with veg-tanned leather. I'd like to start practicing tooling, but I'm more concerned with fabricating leather items right now without the design, until I become proficiant tooling. For something like tool bags that get a lot of weather abuse, do i want to go with veg-tanned leather or something else? I plan on looking for tools on ebay, are there any tools I want to stay away from or certain things I should watch out for?