Sign in to follow this  
Idahotim

can it be fixed?

Howdy folks, I am a rank newbie to leather work but wanted to try to make a holster. I watched / read most everything I could find on the web on the subject and began.... When I dipped the holster into very warm water to wet form it, it shrank and curled up and is apparently ruined! It is hard as a rock. Is there anyway to salvage it? What went wrong? Here are a few facts about my methods: 1) I used leather I have had for a few years, maybe many years! 2) I warmed the water to 140 degrees and added a couple drops of dish soap. 3) I held the holster under until bubbles quit (about 15 seconds) Thanks in advance for your response and aid.

Any pictures of the holster in question? I don't case leather at any particular temp. generally whatever tap temp. is works for me so I don't have the same experience you have had with the curling shrinkage etc... I am sure someone has an answer but maybe you should go get some new Veg tan tooling leather and try again fresh. Good luck.

the first mistake you made was by submerging it in hot water. what you did was to do something called "cuir boulli' whern you submerge leather in hot water you harden the leather. You can not fix it . You have to get another piece of leather and start over. I use regular tap water with just the cold water on . or you can use a spray bottle and spray it and then put it in a plastic bag to case the leather. I do not use soap. if you do wish to add something to the water to soften up the leather use lexol.

another problem was the leather. How many years have you had it and how was it stored. If it was stored when the sun can get to it ,even with out hitting it directly will harden the leather.