THE MEXICAN

Saddle Leather Has Turned Yellow

Hello there folks,

I'm very new to leatherwork. So new that I only have a couple of custom works under my belt, one being for my father. He like my work so much that he brought me a new project. My father works for a custom home building company, and this company has several model homes that are fully decorated. In one of these homes there is a saddle that is about 13 years old and has never been used, other than for decoration. Unfortunately the decorator placed it on display in front of a window and has been sitting there since the day it was purchased, until about 3 days ago. Anyway, when he brought it to me he asked me to try and get it back to its original condition. The front half of this saddle is a chesnut color(from what I can tell) and the back half and fenders have turned a pale yellow and are REALLY dry. I would love to take on this project but I dont want to mess it up. So my question is, Where/ How do I start? Any advise would be very much appeciated. Thanks in advance.

To me it sounds like the saddle was sunburned and bleached out. This happens even inside. I had a hide that was inside my garage (in A/C) next to the garage door. The side next to the door turned yellow from the UV rays hitting the door and heating it up. I live in Florida. And it does dry it out....look at your skin after sunburning. The saddle definitely needs some oil ....you also may be able to re-dye the whole saddle. I would contact your local saddle shop about this job. If you want to keep the saddle in good condition ...keep it out of the window.

Good luck.

Sandy