jk215

Help With Undercutting/overcutting Problem

Ive been practicing leathercraft for about 8 months now and I still have problems with undercutting/overcutting my pieces. This leads to 2 pieces not lining up correctly when I go to glue them and always having to try to fix it at that stage. My usual process is to mark my lines with a straightedge and scratch awl and then run the knife along the straight edge to cut. Lately Ive been marking my lines and trying to cut freehand as suggested by a few others in a thread I saw. This seems like it should be a pretty straight forward process (no pun intended) and cant figure out how to improve my cuts. Im cutting with my left hand, should I be eye-ing this up from a top view, left side view, right side view? Ill try anything! :helpsmilie:

jk215, . . . quit beating yourself up.

Seriously, . . . I've been doing leather work for a number of years, . . . and have come to the conclusion that it just IS NOT intelligent to try to cut two pieces of an old dead cow's hide, . . . even if you punch them out with a press, . . . and expect them to line up perfectly.

Leather moves around in the cutting process, . . .

Cut one of the two as near as you can where you want it, . . . cut the other a little over (both should be a smidgeon over anyway), . . . glue em together, . . . even em up with a belt or disc sander or with your Dremel tool.

That is the way I do ALL, . . . EACH, . . . EVERY ONE of my belts, holsters, wallets, etc. They come out even, flush on the sides, smooth, and acceptable.

The first holster I did, . . . without a sander, . . . I was hours on end trying to trim the edges with a razor knife, . . .

May God bless,

Dwight

i think this is one reason that the Round Knife is used by many leatherworkers.