Sign in to follow this  
3arrows

Sewing new sheepskin on skirts

I'm restoring a barrel saddle for one of my customers, an old Martha Josey 15 1/2" racer. I need to replace the sheepskin on it, it now has synthetic on it and it worn out. I dont know why it was repaired with cheap synthetic fleece, but anyway , thats another discussion we can have over beers one day.

I have bought the sheepskin to replace it, have disassembled the saddle skirts,etc., cleaned the old junk fleece off of the skirts, glued the sheepskin on, and am now ready to finish up the sewing job. Since this is my first attempt to do this type of job, Im practicing on an old saddle that I have that is my practice saddle (screw up my own stuff before i screw up a customer's). My question is, when I use my awl and a lock stitch to sew on the sheepskin, I have to keep coming back and tighten up the loops since the skeepskin is keeping the loops from tightening up right away, I guess it take a while for the thread to compress the fleece. Is the lock stitch the right stitch to use or should I be using a two needle "saddle stitch" (aka from Al Stohlman's Art of Handsewing Leather book)?? I also have a sewing machine, but didnt think it would work sewing the thick sheepskin, seems like it would get hung in the walking foot.

As usual, any help will be greatly appreciated as I learn the proper methods of doing these types of simple repairs., thanks ron.. :helpsmilie:

The correct way is to use the two needle method. Use plenty of wax on the thread so to make sure you lock your stitches good. Good luck, I would never sew skirts by hand. My old hands would not take it.

Randy

Thanks Randy, Im learning as fast as I can, and help is always appreciated. Do you use a sewing machine to sew yours? how do you keep the fur from jamming the feet on the machine?? thanks ron