Sign in to follow this  
ChimeraKennels

Well, Don't Beat Me Up Too Bad...

First let me say, I still plan on getting the Cowboy 3500 or 4500 in the future...but I came across a machine today that I just couldn't let pass me by. Getting this machine will probably put me back on the Cowboy until next summer most likely (I am a teacher and have summers off)...but I am comfortable with that.

I found local add on craigslist for a Pfaff 145-4H-6/10 machine that was in "good condition" and original owner. I called em up...spoke to the owner's daughter, as the man that owns the machine is deaf and unable to talk on the phone. He was in his seventies and was retired from a hobby-reuphulstery business while also working for the post office. . I go to visit...and the machine is VERY tight (in terms of not having any wobble in the feet or needle), sews smooth with a nice stitch, and the price was very reasonable. It was actually a pleasure to meet this man and his daughter. His wife died about 7 years ago and he was now going to be moving out west to Seattle, Washington to live with his daughter...and couldn't take the machine with him. He man was having a hard time letting the machine go, but knew it was necessary as his daughter didn't have room for it at her home. They were very nice people and I spent some time talking to them...in fact the daughter ended up getting teary eyed & requested that they take a few pictures of me and her father as it has been part of his life since 1965. He still had the original wooden box and padding cover that came with the machine. It really looked like the machine has been used rather lightly compared to others I have seen...as it still had nearly of its original paint on the flatbed still...and I can tell it has not been repainted.