iknowthisguy13

Cobra Class 4 Shuttle Timing Issue

I cannot adjust the timing on my sewing machine. I am sure I am doing something wrong. When the needle starts rising that bolt is not accessible as that part of the linkage is turning towards the back at that point. I am a total newbie, just finished setting up the machine yesterday. Does altering the stitch length alter the timing of that linkage? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

What is going on that you think you need to work on it?

Did you change the needle?If so double check that it is pushed all the way up.

Ok,now you want to turn the machine ( the handwheel) towards you & when the needle gets all the way down & right as it starts to go up the shuttle also does the same, it goes all the way back & should start to come forward @ the same time the needle goes up,check & see if this is happening?

Did you buy the machine brand new, from Leather Machine Company? Or, was it a used machine from a private seller?

If new, you can call the company tomorrow, during normal business hours on the West Coast.

There are two basic places where the timing can be adjusted. One is the height of the needle bar, which is secured by two Allen screws, inside the faceplate. The other is the positioner for the hook, which is accessible through a round covered hole in the base of the machine, on the right-front side. It is safer to try raising the needle bar than to dink with the inside the body mechanism, without expert guidance.

All timing adjustments should be made with the stitch length/direction lever set to the zero movement position. This balances the range between forward and backward feeding.

Also, since Bob is responding on his day off, you are under expert guidance already.

Bobbin starts coming back up as the needle where the feed dog currently. This is the improvement guessing at the timing made since I can't set properly.