I'm new to Leatherworker.net, and I am curious if anyone here knows about Viscol. I used to work at a saddle shop that made a lot of trophy and show saddles and the owner (now deceased) swore by the stuff. We used straight Viscol to "oil" saddles, tack, and other items that we did not want to be darkened, and we mixed it 50-50 with neatsfoot oil for most other oiling applications. The straight Viscol did not darken the leather at all once it soaked in and dried, and the mixture produced a nice golden hue. I'm getting back into the leather business and I plan to order some Viscol, so I looked it up on the Internet. It is made by DYO Chemical, Inc. Here is how their online catalog describes it:

Triple Action Viscol: DYO Triple Action Viscol is a silicone waterproofing agent. Triple Action Viscol oils, waterproofs, and preserves leather as well as extending its life and durability. It is recommended for hunting garments & accessories or any leather goods that are often exposed to natures elements.

Application: Manual

Here is a link to their website: http://www.dyo.com/leather_catalog.html It looks like they also offer a full line of dyes, finishes, etc. which I have not tried.

:whatdoyouthink: - Jim

I would very interested to hear more. Thanks for posting.

Welcome to the board. I hope to see some of your projects soon.

Thanks for the link. Personally, I would never use a silicone product on any of my projects. I'm sure there is all kinds of science involved, but for me, it just don't seem right.

Dyo is no longer in business. Their plant exploded , and remaining products, patents, formulas, etc. were bought out by LCI Inc.

http://www.leathercoatings.com/index.html

Give them a call. You'll need to set up a business account with them and make minimum orders of $100 at a time. If you're not willing to buy a minimum of 50 gallons a year, don't ask Carlos too many questions, as he is busy with much more lucrative clients.