Sign in to follow this  
Pip

how do I handstitch?

My question is I think a simple one, when should I use a 2 needle technique or a stitching awl and what are the pro's n cons? On the face of it I think the stitches are similar but seem to wear differently with the harder wearer being the two needle stitch.....mmm why?

I am trying to learn stitching, as a stereotypically educated male I have found my schooling neglected this fundamental skill.

Thanks folks

I'm not an expert, but I think the 2 needle stitch, the saddle stitch, I think its called, is stonger and if a stitch breaks, the whole thing doesn't come apart. where with the awl, it makes a lock stitch where the stitching from one side holds the stitching from the other and if one comes apart the whole thing can come apart. I personally have never used the stitching awl. For a more secure stitch, you can use a locking saddle stitch, which is when you stitch (with 2 needles ) after you put both needles through, but before you pull your loops tight, you put your needles through the loops and then pull tight so that the thread is twisted together inside the leather. Very strong but time consuming. Hope this helps.

John

I'm not an expert, but I think the 2 needle stitch, the saddle stitch, I think its called, is stonger and if a stitch breaks, the whole thing doesn't come apart. where with the awl, it makes a lock stitch where the stitching from one side holds the stitching from the other and if one comes apart the whole thing can come apart. I personally have never used the stitching awl. For a more secure stitch, you can use a locking saddle stitch, which is when you stitch (with 2 needles ) after you put both needles through, but before you pull your loops tight, you put your needles through the loops and then pull tight so that the thread is twisted together inside the leather. Very strong but time consuming. Hope this helps.

John