ktoddmc

Leather/brass Engraving

I have seen a few posts that talks about laser engraving on leather. I've spent considerable time looking for a machine that will do this. Does anyone know about these machines? Where to get them? What not to get, etc.? I am interested in something that will personalize latigo leather. I am just a hobbyist and I know these machine will be very high priced, but am still interested. As my experience grows along with my knowledge, I would like to know what is available in this hobby. One day someone might even buy something I make!?? I have posted similar questions dealing with dog collars and leashes. A few folks told me to use brass plates. The dilemma there is "how do you get the engraving to look professional on the brass tag"? Seems to take me back to the beginning. Any help would be appreciated.

I have seen a few posts that talks about laser engraving on leather. I've spent considerable time looking for a machine that will do this. Does anyone know about these machines? Where to get them? What not to get, etc.? I am interested in something that will personalize latigo leather. I am just a hobbyist and I know these machine will be very high priced, but am still interested. As my experience grows along with my knowledge, I would like to know what is available in this hobby. One day someone might even buy something I make!?? I have posted similar questions dealing with dog collars and leashes. A few folks told me to use brass plates. The dilemma there is "how do you get the engraving to look professional on the brass tag"? Seems to take me back to the beginning. Any help would be appreciated.

Epilog Laser Engravers are some of the best.

They have a series they call Epilog Zing, comes in several sizes cheapest has an engraving area of 16" x 12". They consider this their Entry Level unit. I personally stay away from the cheapest of anything.