Leatherfanatic

Cutting Straps from Oil Tanned Hide (4-6oz leather)

Let me start by saying I am a total noob. I am having a problem cutting straps from an oil tanned hide with soft/medium temper with my strap cutter (the wooden one Tandy sells). It is not firm enough to cut perfect straps. What does everyone else use to cut even straps from this type of leather?  

Well, the only way I've had luck with cutting soft leather straps is by using a long cutting table and a piece of hardboard, ripped to the width of the strap and using a rotary cutter.  The hardboard has a smooth side and a rough side. Lay the rough side down to immobilize the leather and cut along the ripped hardboard .  If you don't have a long table, go to a big box store (Lowes, Home Depot, etc.) and buy a 4 foot by 8 foot 3/16 inch sheet of hardboard.  Have them rip the widths of the strap sizes you will be using and leave 6 inch piece to lay on the floor to be your cutting table.

Hardboard: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Hardboard-Tempered-Panel-Common-3-16-in-x-4-ft-x-8-ft-Actual-0-175-in-x-48-in-x-96-in-832780/202404545

rotary_cutter.jpg

Edited by stelmackr

I use a wooden strap cutter for this sort of leather. It's one of the now discontinued ones made in Stockton rather than the Far East. The Stockton ones are superior, but yours should work okay.

First ditch the "proper" blade and get a pack of injector razor blades. Similar cost, half the thickness, sharper and long enough to use at multiple "spots" on the blade. Just put some tape over the exposed part so you don't accidentally cut yourself in half.

Then set your strap cutter with the parallel bars a little further apart than required for your thickness of leather. You don't want it dragging or snagging, but neither do you want it rattling about.