Sign in to follow this  
DG Leather

Sun Star

Has anyone heard of sunstar? model # KM-590BL

I am looking at buying one to sew my leather....

Any insight or opinions?

It is a table unit. It is absolutely quiet, fast stitches and real slow stitches.....I am new to all this letaher work in last few months but going to [purchase this unit possibly but would love your input!!!!

Has anyone heard of sunstar? model # KM-590BL

I am looking at buying one to sew my leather....

Any insight or opinions?

It is a table unit. It is absolutely quiet, fast stitches and real slow stitches.....I am new to all this letaher work in last few months but going to [purchase this unit possibly but would love your input!!!!

Please help!

Looks like a Korean knock-off... basic medium weight, walking foot, unison feed lockstitch machine. It will max out at 40 oz of leather or about 5/8" though it won't like sewing through that much. Figure 1/2" as your max. Normal thread size will be #69 on a machine like this... maybe you can go a size higher.

I have a Juki 1541S which is a similar machine... maybe a bit heavier in its construction and duty... and probably heavier in cost too. Mine is quite good for most sewing tasks and I'm sure this machine will perform quite well for most things. For thick leather... there is simply no substitute for a heavy stitcher like the Juki 441 clones... Toro, Cobra, Cowboy etc. These machines take thread up to 415 unlike the medium weight machines which are not triple digit thread machines.

It all depends upon what you plan to sew with the machine. You need to evaluate your highest normal requirement. If you once in a blue moon have to stitch heavy leather, you can always ram that needle bar down... even if you have to flywheel it. But if you are going to sew tack, make gunholsters, or other heavy duty applications, consider a heavier machine.