rccolt45

ready to learn how to finish

Hi guys,

I am new to holster making (about 6 months). So far everything I have done has not been worth posting. But with your help I have actually made one that might be worth showing off. I am in the last steps and need to dye it. My question for you is what steps are involved so get the shinny affect that you see? If the past I have tried the Tandy eco water based stuff and it comes out nice and after a few buffings kinda shinny. I have then tried supershine on top and it looks better but not like I have seen here. So whats the secret to a really nice holster?

Also what is vineagroon and resylin used for?

Edited by rccolt45

Hey rccolt45!

It sounds like you're doing the process that many of us follow (with some personal variations) and if you are happy with the results, keep doing it. You might want to consider the possibility that the effect you're seeing in some of the posts is a result of the flash photography and not some finishing trick. I suspect that if you had a chance to look at some of these items in person, they would look very much like yours.

Hope this helps.

Mike

Hi guys,

I am new to holster making (about 6 months). So far everything I have done has not been worth posting. But with your help I have actually made one that might be worth showing off. I am in the last steps and need to dye it. My question for you is what steps are involved so get the shinny affect that you see? If the past I have tried the Tandy eco water based stuff and it comes out nice and after a few buffings kinda shinny. I have then tried supershine on top and it looks better but not like I have seen here. So whats the secret to a really nice holster?

Also what is vineagroon and resylin used for?

Buff out the dye to get the residue off (I use a horsehair brush). Then topcoat. I prefer Resolene (an acrylic) and have gotten great results by airbrushing (I dip small parts sometimes). Once that is dry, buff it out too.