Sign in to follow this  
drof99

Holster guts

I am using 8/9 oz leather to make my holsters. They turn out good for as long as I have been doing it. The inside of the holster is a little ruff. What can you do to smooth out the inside? I have been thinking of going a little lighter on holster material and lining the inside with a light weight leather. Is that the way to go for a better look? If that is the case what weight is best for the holster and the lining? What kind of cement would you use to get the two to stay together? Would you just line the area that gun sits in or the whole thing? If anyone has some pics of lines holsters I'd like to see a few. Thank for the help.

You can use a sealant to coat the inside. Depending on the type, some are harder than others. So far I've only used Satin Sheen and Tan Kote to seal the inside. Tan Kote dries harder the Satin Sheen.

I believe Resolene is used as well. I have no experience with that yet so I cannot tell you how it feels.

I don't line my holsters with anything. But suede is the one I see used most often.

It was common talk that the chemicals in suede liners wasn't good for guns, but again, just talk I've heard/read. I don't have any experience with the damage the suede can or cannot do to a gun's finish. Or how long it takes/conditions/time needed for damage to occur. For all I know, its just a myth.

For cement, I've used 3M Super Adhesive, but when available, Gorilla glue. I flip the pattern to the inside and trace the stitch lines with a Sharpie (so I know where to put glue), then rough the glue areas with 100grit sandpaper, then apply glue to both pieces of leather. Wait a minute or so to let the glue get tacky and stick them together. I lay a hardback book on top for some weight so it stay good and flat.

Edited by Shorts

I wanted to post this up: