clutey

12 Guage Cartridge Pouch

Hi guys, I'm a total newbie to leather work. I got myself a starter kit from Tandy and have worked through a couple of the projects, still not finished them all but I will work my way through them. What I am looking to complete for myself eventually is a cartridge pouch that will hold about 50x12 guage shotgun shells, the type of pouch for sale on Lonesome Charlie's site. http://store.lonesomecharlie.com I have trawled through a lot of the historic topics and can't find anything relating to this type of pouch. Really I need quite a bit of advice like, what sort of leather I need, the thickness, etc, are there any patterns available, do I need several types of leather, how do I waterproof it. The weather here in Northern Ireland has been known to be quite wet LOL. I know working on this pouch will be some time way off in the future. But I am prepared to take time to build up the tools/dyes/finishes and all the equipment required Any advice will be greatly appreciated Thanks in advance Clutey.....

Depending on the bag your asking about some are made with vegetable tanned and chrome tanned leather and some are made with chrome tan leather. They look like their sewed wrong side out and turned right side out. My guess is you will need to make your own pattern. Something like 10 across and 5 high. 50 12 guage shells is going to be heavy if you wear it very long.

My question is where are you going to put the shells you have shot ? I'm guessing that your going to save them to reload. If you are and make another bag it's going to need to be bigger because i doubt you'll take the time to arrange them after you shoot espically if your shooting trap or skeet.

Al Stohlman's Art of making leather cases Vol 1 has a shotgun shell 1 box case and a 4 box carrier. To make one like his though, you'll have to make up your own pattern and experiment a bit.