Hi All,

Here are some picture of my first holsters and a mag pouch. This is my first attempt at any sort of leather working but I enjoyed it immensely.

This is my first holster:

P1070805.jpg[/img]

Then a Mag Pouch:

P1070797.jpg[/img]

Then my latest, much better I think:

P1070808.jpg[/img]

Edited by mojoewrkn

I like them, they look a lot better than my first attempts. From one newbie to another, the gun in the bottom holster may ride to high for comfort, my first design had the gun riding high and while it was functional it was not comfortable.

From the old grump; Good looking work, however I think that you might need to tuck the stitch line in a bit closer to that shooter on both, and follow the contour of the trigger guard a bit better - on the second one. Other than that I see no problems. Keep it up, great job for beginning holster work. Mike

Edited by katsass

For the overlay piece, work on eliminating the sharp points. Slightly round the corners, and you won't have to worry about them getting 'dog eared' or rough looking. From a concealment standpoint, that corner is more apt to hold a fold in your shirt than a curve would be. And like Katsass said, tighter stitch lines. Other than that....ya done good! You avoided a common mistake of making the sweat shield too large, so it shows you've been doing some reading....and paying attention.

Thanks for the feedback! I have a question for you experts. When I applied the Fiebing leather sheen, it turned green, it made my thread have a slight green tint to it. Why did it do that(I assume it pulled up some dye). How to I avoid that? Also, how stiff should the leather be? On the first holster I think I may have heated it too long, it is very hard.