seanafk

Online Course On Leather Edges And Possibly Other Techniques

Hi all, we’re thinking of creating an online course on how to do traditional finished edges. There are two techniques that we would cover- a European/French method and a Japanese method. People write to our store all the time for advice on best practices and alternates to 'western' techniques.

It seems like most of the visitors here are self-taught, are there other areas that have been difficult to get information on or learn online?

What do you guys think?

That would be a helpful resource, just like how fine leather tools are niche, instructions are even rarer. Who would you get to instruct? To be frank if it isn't made by an experienced leatherworker I would be less inclined to purchase but thats just me. A video by an ex hermes work or peter nitz I would for sure buy.

One thing I been trying to find is a full video step by step of making something like a bag made by a european craftsman like the type of work hermes puts out. The only place in USA to learn this would be from http://www.amblardleatheratelier.com. At 80-100 (about a day rate minus the materials)

I would pay for a 2 hour vid on handle making like the below picture, edge burnishing w/ a machine tool and the edge technique in second picture wrapped together in the making of the bag in a step by step process - basic talk about materials, tools, cutting + aligning, glueing + hardware, construction + stitching, finishing.

A downloadable pattern or plastic pattern that you could buy from your site and a reasonably priced video (made by amblard or a past student) would be perfect.. An hour to 2 hour in-depth video for download for 80-100 bucks would be what I would be interested to pay depending on the amount of detail in the video. A bag like a briefcase or messenger bag would be good.

post-34060-0-20842200-1423967455_thumb.j

post-34060-0-01293200-1423967565_thumb.j