Striker1

Hi from Iowa and I sure hope I don't make anybody mad...

Hi.

My name is Curt and I am a Disabled Veteran, happily married to a great gal named Kitty. We celebrated our 11th. Anniversary yesterday. We live in Newton, Iowa.

I learned leathercraft in 1984 at the V.A. Hospital and loved it but gave it up for many years to drive a truck OTR. My best piece was a wildlife portrait of a mountain lion crouching to pouce on a deer from a bluff. My Mother still has it displayed on the wall and people marvel at it still. I'm really proud of that piece.

I hope to learn a lot from the other craftsman on this board and hope to make some friends in the process even though I am going to take a chance of offending some members by possibly coming accross as a mooch.

I find myself in a situation where my health has taken a turn south rather quickly. In the past three months I have been in a cardiac intensive care unit, contracted pnuemonia, bronchitus and two weeks ago was hospitalized for emergency removal of a kidney stone the size of Plymouth Rock. Needless to say it was all very expensive and the cost of medication has led to us choosing between meds and other neccessities. In order to bring in some x-tra income I've taken up leathercraft again with an eye toward making custom guitar straps. (I'm a Blues Guitarist(not working).

I have been able to put together a minimal set of hand tools but I need much more in the way of dyes, finishes and other tools and accessories.

If anyone has some x-tra items a craftsman needs and wouldn't leave themselves short, I would be grateful if you could see yourself clear to pass them to me. I may be able to pay for some items but anything would be a stretch right now. I will try though.