jimmy eng

New Member From Brisbane, Australia

Hi, I'm Jimmy from Brisbane, Australia. I thought I'd introduce myself and let you know where I want to go with my leather craft so I can get advice from as many of you as possible and from what I've read so far, I've got a lot to learn! Hopefully, I can contribute what I've learned in the future. My background is in visual arts and fashion design.

I started making small leather goods and jewelery just two months ago so I'm very much a beginner but my interest is in hand stitching. I 've made a few simple pieces so far and I've sold them at various markets that I do so hopefully they'll be enough interest to make a small living out of it as I'm not aware that anyone else sells hand sewn goods like mine in my city. I'm hoping to sell in 'rent a space' stores which hire the shop space out to designers and they sell the goods for you and I have a handful of friends that have their own stores. So far I've made boot straps, keyring cases and necklaces but I want to get my head around small wallets and bags.

I attached a couple of my pieces and my facebook business page if you're keen to check them out. I get my leather from Maclace (Capalaba, QLD), J A Brooks (West End, Brisbane) and Birdsall (Sydney).

post-20429-020115000 1300326339_thumb.jp

This boot strap is the first thing I made because I had a pair years ago that broke and I had some of the parts left so I copied them but I can't find any chain the same size (the chain is from the previous ones). Made from 3mm Buffalo.

post-20429-055351900 1300325649_thumb.jp

This one is a keyring case from a 3mm Buffalo that I saddle stitched and used a size 3 edge beveller (I like the edge as a feature) and put on a strap. I was thinking of lining it with a bright kangaroo to make it more interesting and I'm getting a leather stamp made.

post-20429-080708900 1300325699_thumb.jp

This is a necklace from fabric glued between two pieces of leather.