Paxton

Finishing The Backside Of Belts

Hi-

I am currently making belt straps to go with the belt buckles. I am new to leather working but have come a long way in the last month and the belts are starting to look nice and I am beginning to get a good system going. The problem I am having is that my wife does not like the light natural color of the underside of the premium tooling leather I am using to make the straps. We both would like the underside to look a little more finished or at least a darker tan or brown. So far I have tried dying the underside with a light brown fiebings low voc (california) dye which produces a nice tan. The problem is then how to seal the back so the underside dye will not rub off when wearing the belt. I have tried a acrylic clear coat but the results are a uneven coloration of very dark patches and very light patches of the tan color. So i guess my main question is how to seal the underside of the belt if you dye it?? Some other methods I have tried are burnishing the back with no dye (seems to time consuming and dont really like the result). I currently use the eco-flo water based dyes on the front of the belts (I know... they are harder to work with but I am in California and have decided to just start my leather experience using them... I also like the color selection better than the low VOC dyes) and then use a couple of layers of a clear coat. I have thought about just dyeing the backside of the belt the same color using the eco-flo dyes but then again I would really need to seal the back which becomes more of a problem since the backside is rougher and harder to seal it seams. Sorry for the long post but hope someone can help with some advice on finishing the backside. Any thing would work as long as it gives it a darker tan, brown or dyed look. (I know I could get into stitching a finished bottom piece to the belt but we are trying to stay simple). Thanks!

Paxton---

HI; Paxton;;