Mike516

Sewing Around An Octagon

How would you go about sewing around multiple corner turns, like say an octagon for instance, and keep distance from the edge uniform?

Should I play with different stitch lengths going around the turns and count stitches, or is there another method? I been at this for days but can't seem to get consistent results. I'm fairly patient but I don't seem to be getting anywhere with this. I have figured out quite a bit in the last couple of months practicing but this solution eludes me.

Sorry, I am using a sewing machine. I am trying to expand my practices, so I just got it a few months ago and I'm still learning to use it. I'm getting frustrated trying to get clean corners.

I take it you're referring to the projects you sometimes see -- with a little 'booger' stitch at the end cuz they dun run outta room. Looks like... well - it aint good ;)

If you don't have clear visibility under the foot to place your stitches, try marking the training wheels! Don't take offense at the term.. I sometimes still do it here n there. Make a stitch line with a compass, groover, creaser, whatever. Then mark a few stitches back from your turn with an overstitch wheel. Better yet, use a compass or dividers. That way you can stitch a few stitches in a piece of scrap, and set your divider spacing to those stitches, and the spacing will match what your machine wants to do and the look you want.

Watch @ 2:45:

If you know how far you are going to be off before you get there, you can cheat the stitch length of the last 3 stitches to hide the change better.

Edited by TinkerTailor

I take it you're referring to the projects you sometimes see -- with a little 'booger' stitch at the end cuz they dun run outta room. Looks like... well - it aint good ;)