Shelly

Rawhide String Riding Up

This is a reply to the post that was removed, regarding the string riding up - I've been braiding rawhide, latigo, roo, etc, since 1976. In my opinion, rawhide, once it is tempered, (proper temper will allow you to 'see' thru your initial strip, transparent almost. Then, if it is about ready to be cut, you will know if it is too wet still, if, by pulling it thru your fingers, it leaves your fingers feeling 'wet'). This doesn't mean it's too wet to cut, necessarily, but, it will not bevel or split worth a damn, as it will need to be a bit dryer for that step.

Once it has the proper feel thru most of the strip, I set up my cutter - leaving my strips in the humidifier, to keep them where they need to be. I only work with what I can get thru before the cut strings are too dry to finish them, which is usually about 3 to 6 at a time, if they are about 3/64" each. My first step is to take one of my strips out, shake it out, (these that I worked today were about 8' long, by about an inch in width. Because my strips were fairly uniform in thickness, about 1/32", I did not worry about splitting the strip down at this stage, but, rather, may knock off a bit of the flesh side later on, when I am choosing a string for a project I'm working on. First - I will shake it out, then, I will put the strip hair side down, and pull it evenly over the cylinder of the cutter, with even pressure downward, from the left to right side of the cylinder - this will do a few things - it will take the kinks out of the strip, and flatten it, in case it curled a little in the humidifier, then, it will show me where any areas are still a little too damp, as those areas will 'stick' a bit, and lastly, it will find any weak areas that want to 'stretch', and will pre-stretch that slightly, before you find it later, when cutting the strings, and then the string wants to stretch to nothing and break.