ramblinrovers

Old Craftool Beveler B200, Mod Or No?

So, I have this old craftool beveler, the B200, that I wanted to modify into a sheridan beveler (just put a steeper angle on it) cause I don't have one of those but lots of time. But then I thought maybe I better ask the experts here whether or not modifying one of the GOOD craftool stamps was a good idea, or if I might wreck something by doing so. I'm not terribly knowledgeable when it comes to things like this, though I have made some pretty ugly stamps of my own. Actually, this seems rather dumb, what could be wrong with that anyway? But it took me so long to type out I can't bring myself to erase it, and then anyways, it might not be as dumb as I think it is, and I'm no expert... So anyhow, your input? :whatdoyouthink: ~J

If it is your tool, you can do whatever you want to it. But, it would be just as easy, and better to use a stainless bolt.

You can get much of the same effect of the steeper beveler just by tilting the tool towards you when you strike it. I would probably leave the tool alone and see if I could achieve the result just by tilting it. However, if I was going to try to modify the tool I would do like Electrathon says above and start with a bolt or nail, grinding the surface down to see what you can make. I wouldn't recommend starting with the existing beveler just because if your not experienced at grinding tools it will probably take you a few tries to get something your happy with.