mrtreat32

Stitches Not Overlap Or Touch

Looking around at some websites online who have nice looking leather goods and I noticed that their stitches dont seem to touch one another or overlap the way mine do. ( Im just starting out)

Is this a combination of a bigger hole being punched with a smaller thread or maybe that combined with them pulling the stitches tighter than I am? Just curious on how someone could achieve this and is it a sign of a better stitch? Originally I thought that cleaner stitches should fill out the hole and overlap ever so slightly.

by the way I am using a Douglas slim blade and fl au chinois thread 432 practicing 7spi at the moment. Would I want to buy thinner thread to achieve this?

here are a few examples

http://img.purseforum.com/attachments/premier-designers/hermes/authenticate-this-hermes/1861743d1346950398-archive-6-01-13-authenticate-this-hermes-bag-stitching1-800x598-.jpg

http://www.theblackacre.net/shop/legion-trucker-wallet-russet

I would say you are using some pretty thick thread for that stitch count. I am right this minute stitching something 7spi using 277 thread. I will try to post a pic in little bit. It is nice and clean looking. I would think 432 would be kind of bulky looking for 7spi. I don't know what you are sewing, however I think you might get a less bulky look with that thread if you went down to 5spi. Do you have a picture of what you have stitched so we can see what your concerns are?

Edited by camano ridge

I would say you are using some pretty thick thread for that stitch count. I am right this minute stitching something 7spi using 277 thread. I will try to post a pic in little bit. It is nice and clean looking. I would think 432 would be kind of bulky looking for 7spi. I don't know what you are sewing, however I think you might get a less bulky look with that thread if you went down to 5spi.