BobW

Just Finished My First Piece!

Hi everyone. I am very new to leather working. In fact I just finished my first piece. Its very exciting! I think I my have gotten the bug!

I made a case for my phone. Very simple but much better looking than the Otterbox.

The pictures aren't that great, I was in a hurry and took them with my son's phone.

The case is made from ~4oz veg tan leather. I used Tandy waxed nylon thread and blunt saddle needles to hand stitch it. I wet formed the case directly on my phone with the Otterbox in place! I did cover it with plastic wrap first!

I didn't come out perfect, but it did come out better than I expected for a first try.

post-39548-0-41535600-1362401164_thumb.j

post-39548-0-60019600-1362401181_thumb.j

post-39548-0-93595900-1362401190_thumb.j

post-39548-0-89618200-1362401199_thumb.j

post-39548-0-09556000-1362401211_thumb.j

What a great first piece!!

I think you meant first piece this week? ;)

I see nothing wrong with that! Nice work!

Thanks everyone. It is my very first piece ever. I am practicing leather working in order to incorporate into my first love, metal fabrication. These are only hobbies but I have found they both provide an avenue for creativity that is not possible in my 9 to 5.

You done a fine job. You do need to work on the burnishing of the edges.

ferg

ferg