BigGriff

Putting A Straight Edge On A Side

Just got a side from Zach White. I am making a guitar strap for my brother. This is my first time doing something like this. So my question is, how do you guys straighten the edges? I have a strap cutter, scissors and a utility knife. Does anybody have a quick, easy way to do this. I guess I could just use a ruler and hope it comes out straight, but I am hoping someone has a better method. Thanks in advance.

Get a good cheap piece of flat bar about 3" wide by 1/4 or 3/32. about 3-4 feet long.

I have been known to use a carpenters level as well but sometimes they have rounded the corners, so that will not be so straight 100% of the time, but it is worth a shot!

Good Luck!

BTW! Get aluminum flat bar!!!!!!!!!!!!

I asked the same question when I bought a hide.

I was told to find the widest / longest part of the hide and use a streight edge to make the 1st cut.

I have a 4' metal ruler and I bought the strap cutter with the hide. However I haven't had the guts to try making that big of a cut.

Good Luck,

Ken

Get a string longer than the longest cut you'll need. Make a loop on one end and push a thumbtack into the leather, with the loop around the tack. Stretch the string out along the side as close to the edges as you can, getting the most useable leather out of the side that you can. When you find the right line, insert a second tack and wrap the string around it. Moderate tension is all that's needed. Once the string is in place, you can mark the hide with whatever you like...just be sure that you don't bend the string. I like very soft pencil or 'woodless' pencils on the flesh side. Then, go back and cut along your line.

I use the long ruler suggestion. The only thing I do is clamp the ends of the ruler. A sharp utility knife and take your time.