makiba

Hand Stitching Beginner - Minimum Tools Required?

I'm a beginner looking to make a small, simple bag. I've watched a few video tutorials and it seems in terms of tools - if I just buy an awl, that might be all I need to get started - is this correct?

I've got some standard, heavy needles as well.

I ask as I was looking at the www.GoodsJapan.com page for awls and it says the awl should be used with a stitching punch - I thought the awl was used to punch the stitching hole so I'm a bit confused what a stitching punch is? Do I need one?

I'm also confused as to what size to buy. I have some medium heavy leather for a small bag - would a small or medium sized awl suit this?

I'm aiming to buy as few tools as possible, but prefer good quality tools - from what I've seen on the site Blanchard or GoodsJapan should be ok?

Is it impossible to do without a stitching clam to hold the leather?

Thanks very much for your help!

If you are just trying to practice, you can get by with just an awl. Maybe you can use a ruler along the edge of your work to mark where your stitches will go. The awl from GoodsJapan that you are looking at has the same shape as the holes from their pricking punches. Their punches are designed to go all the way through the leather, as opposed to other types of pricking irons. You can still use that awl to make one off holes, or to hold the holes from the pricking punch open while stitching.

I would recommend around 7SPI as a starting SPI. It will match well with 0.8mm thread and will be good fit for a small bag.

Make sure to research pricking irons before spending your money - Neil Armitage has reviews on several different types.

You can stitch without a sewing clamp, it will just be more difficult; And you might teach yourself bad habits - I have an expensive sewing clamp, but don't use it because I'm not accustomed to it.

Basics needed are tools to mark your stitch lines: wing divider, ruler, or compass.